Posted by: hmillic | September 15, 2007

Thank you, laptop. I need you and I hate you for that.

 My laptop is broken. Again.  Puuuuuke. I got a new hard drive put in less than two months ago, and then on Thursday it conks out. The hard drive isn’t mounting, and I guarantee you I’m going to need a new one. I have been living at the Apple store lately. I was there last week for a new power cord, now this. I tell you , extending my warantee two more years was the best investment I’ve ever made. I don’t even want to know how much this shee would cost if I had to pay out of pocket. My only worry is my information. I’ve got a small fortune invested in my iTunes catalog. I backed some of it up, and was going to finish this week, but of course, Murphy’s Law, the crash happened before I could complete the transfer. Last time the little bastard did this to me all my data was retrieved and transferred, but I have a feeling that I’m not going to be so lucky this time around.  Pray for it.

Every time I go to the Apple store its a total droolfest.  I think my next big purchase is going to be a new desktop. The iMacs are pretty sweet, and fairly affordable. I’ll still keep the little bastard, but I think a desktop is a step in the right direction. The 24 inch monitor is calling my name.  I know that as soon as I buy one they’re going to come out with a better, faster model, but sooner or later I’m going to have to pull the trigger and just go for it. It probably won’t happen for a couple more months. I’m also going to invest in a good digital camcorder and some software because I’m taking the next step with the blogging and moving into the realm of video blogging, or vlogging. It’s so easy to edit footage with the programs that Apple has, I can’t wait to get started.  I’m going to keep up with the writing and posting of internet awesome-ness, but at least once a week I want to post a vlog.  I’m going to take my video camera everywhere with me, and every week I’ll take people somewhere new. I’ve already got my first few episodes mapped out, so be sure to tune in when the come out, they’re going to rock.  I’m going to put them on YouTube, and post them as Podcasts. Going global! 

 I wish I had my video camera today at the mall.  It was crazy.  Not only was it a zoo, but there were kids in hideous prom dresses everywhere. Shreiking junior high girls with tiaras and corresponding dates with man jewelry and gelled hair as far as the eye could see.  Talk about a draining experience. Weaving in and out of the sea of people walking slowly and trying to avoid head on collisions with fellow consumer whores toting armloads of bags is exhausting. Damn you, Apple store for making me have to endure this! Computer just HAD to break on a weekend.  I  have to go back to that infernal place to claim the lousy thing in a couple days. Every time I go there my hatred for large crowds of people just grows more and more acute.

The worst part about it is I have to be without my computer for a few days. I DO have an office I can go to, but I want to be able to lay in bed and eat Froot Loops while I blog!! Waaaa!  The inconvenience of it all!  Laptop, this has got to stop. You take, and you take, and you take!!


Responses

  1. Very interesting post. Please do not hesitate to email me more info on this one. If you have a main site let me know. I would like to ad a link for my readers!

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

