Posted by: hmillic | October 23, 2007

City on Fire: Flickr photos/stories of the San Diego wildfire burning

Here are a couple of pictures people have posted today on flickr so we can get an idea of what’s happening to so many people in California. More later.

From xeliakay’s photostream:

San Diego has been burning for the past 24 hours. We just got the call for ‘voluntary evacuation’ here at my house, but as far as I know we’re not leaving yet. This could, however, change any minute.

Many of my friends and family have been forced to evacuate, and apparently So Cal is under a ‘state of emergency’. My old neighborhood from when I first moved to San Diego is all on fire; the houses right across the street from my old house are gone. I have a hard time breathing when I go outside because the air is filled with smoke. My hair was full of ash by the time I got back inside.

I logged into Myspace today, and every bulletin I saw was saying something like “Yay there’s no school tomorrow!”. People are losing their homes, a quarter of a million people are being forced to evacuate, and one person has already died. If this is going on and all they can think about is whether or not they have to take an exam, I fear for my generation.

My heart goes out to all of you in San Diego who are suffering from this. I’m praying that all of you stay safe.

 

From Gifted Gourmet’s photostream:

Wondering about the famous San Diego Zoo, one of my favorite places?

Fire moved south into the city of San Diego through the San Pasqual Valley, heading toward the Wild Animal Park. The animal park evacuated its staff to the San Diego Zoo, and some animals were moved to a fire-resistant hospital on the park property, including California condors, several bird species, some snakes and some smaller mammals. Larger animals were in their open areas.

“There are lots of ponds for the animals to retreat to,” said a Wild Animal Park spokesman. The park has fire breaks around its perimeter, and the fire has not entered the park …

 

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

