Posted by: hmillic | October 25, 2007

A quick afternoon stroll with Sufjan and Whodat: Read and Listen!

photo originally uploaded by jilldoughtie

 

 

Whodat and I went on another walk this afternoon. The weather was even nicer than yesterday, so I couldn’t justify sitting inside all day. It is perfect outside. The cool breeze was strong but the sun warmed away any chills. I took my iPod and played my “All Sufjan” playlist, because I hadn’t listened to it in a long time. It was crazy how perfectly synched up my Sufjan Steven’s playlist was with my walk. Hid multi-layered whimsical and unique sound on some of the tracks captured the moments perfectly, from the movement of the trees in the breeze, to the people passing by. I thought it was a really cool way to get to know the neighborhood I just moved in to. I’ve been so busy unpacking and doing other silly things (like blogging) since we moved in a few weeks ago, so I haven’t really had the chance to explore. It really was a relaxing and fun experience, especially with the music. I decided I’d tell you about it using the songs as a b Here’s the soundtrack for my walk, I highly recommend it for outdoor excursions:

1. Chicago

This was playing as I took my first steps outside, and admired how lovely everything was. Whodat jerked me around when I slowed down to watch a squirrel burying a nut, and even stood in front of me and tripped me when was I turned around and not paying attention. Whodat also stopped and smelled everything, and we got tangled up on hydrants and trees and stop signs because we always picked different sides when we tried to bypass the obstacles. At one point, we got hung up around a sign and when I tried to walk to Whodat’s side she followed me and we made about 4 circular rotations around the sign before I stopped and passed the leash to my other hand. Very comical.

2. That Was the Worst Christmas Ever!

This song is more subdued than the other one, and it started playing when we got close to my elementary school park 3 blocks from the house. The high school lacrosse team was practicing on one end of a big field, the softball girls on the other. Mothers sat on benches reading while their kids climbed over a jungle gym in the middle. A cute 5 year old girl in pigtails ran over to Whodat and pet her, and said she was pretty. I agreed.

3. Say Yes! To Michigan

This started playing as I walked on the sidewalk along the back of the school where the playground was. I hadn’t seen the place in years, at lot has changed, and a lot has stayed the same. I thought of the countless hours I spent playing there, years ago! As I came closer to the kickball field, a gang of nine year olds playing kicked a soccer ball over the fence and into the busy street. They all ran up to the fence screeching and lamenting the lost ball. Luckily, I came to the rescue and jogged over, Whodat in tow. I waited until the ball rolled to my side of the street, then a car stopped and I bent over and scooped it up.

4. The Man of Metropolis Steals Our Hearts

As I walked back with the ball, this track began. The kids were yelling and flailing their arms in the air, each one eager to to catch it. I asked them who wanted it more and they all shrieked as I made my best attempt to lob it over the black steel fence. In true girl throw fashion, the ball hit a tree branch and fell to the ground at their feet. I laughed as the kids fought over it, and they all yelled “thank you” as walked on. I walked towards the front of the school and saw children with backpacks climbing into station wagons and SUVs. There was an awning with benches where kids waited to be picked up. Back in my day we had to sit on the concrete in the sun. I remembered the time my sister forgot to pick me up at school and how I walked home and thought it was an adventure.

5. Romulus

This quiet, soothing song came on as we turned down a small sidestreet lined with trees and cute houses. A father jogging with his children on bikes ran past and waved.

6. Holland

Also a soft song, in the middle of the track a pretty mother wearing a pink polo with a lavender sweater was pushing a baby stroller down the sidewalk on the other side of the street. She flashed a smile and waved and I reciprocated. It felt like I was just in a scene from “The Stepford Wives.” This makes me chuckle.

7. For the Widows in Paradise, for the Fatherless in Ypsilanti

The wind started blowing a little harder when this song came on, as I looked at all of the Halloween decorations on all the houses. I got excited for Halloween, and thought about how cool it was going to be to get to pass out candy to trick-or-treaters for the first time in the new house. A little old man wearing a John Deere hat out for his own afternoon stroll waved at me from across the street as he slowly walked the other direction.

8.The Predatory Wasp of the Palisades

This started playing when I rounded the corner to our street. The trees swaying in the afternoon sun were beautiful, especially the huge maple trees. I thought about how beautiful the bare branches were, stripped of bark and powder white. The big leaves, just starting to change color and fall, were fluttering and twitching all around me. With all the green and yellow and brown it was spectacular, mostly because this was the first time I’d seen the seasons change in a while (I lived in Arizona for 6 years!). Whodat tried to make friends with a kitty on a driveway sunning itself, but the feelings weren’t mutual. The cat ran away, and Whodat seemed bewildered. As we drew closer to our house, we passed kids walking home from school, and I saw our neighbor outside washing his car and waved. Whodat looked tired and thirsty so I jogged us up to our driveway. Our house, with the vines growing on it and the red door, looked cozy and inviting. It felt like home! We went inside as the song was ending, and Whodat got a treat for being so good!

Click here to hear the Soundtrack! I’m missing “Say Yes! To Michigan” for now but all the rest are there!


Responses

  1. juntos esta Navidad

  2. […] hmillic wrote an interesting post today on A quick afternoon stroll with Sufjan and WhodatHere’s a quick excerptThe weather was even nicer than yesterday, so I couldn’t justify sitting inside all day. It is perfect outside. The cool breeze was strong but the sun warmed away any chills. I took my iPod and played my “All Sufjan” playlist, … […]

  3. Ooh, pretty street! You look like you’re over in Montrose or West U, with those trees. And people say Houston is ugly… Ha!

  4. […] hmillic placed an observative post today on A quick afternoon stroll with Sufjan and Whodat.Here’s a quick excerpt:As I came closer to the kickball field, a gang of nine year olds playing kicked a soccer ball over the fence and into the busy street. They all ran up to the fence screeching and lamenting the lost ball. Luckily, I came to the rescue … […]

  5. Well I actually just stole that picture for visual purposes, although that’s pretty close to what my street looks like. We USED to live in Montrose by the Menil and it was a nightmare.

  6. […] hmillic added an interesting post on A quick afternoon stroll with Sufjan and Whodat.Here’s a small excerpt:I remembered the time my sister forgot to pick me up at school and how I walked home and thought it was an adventure. 5. Romulus. This quiet, soothing song came on as we turned down a small sidestreet lined with trees and cute houses. … […]

  7. […] A quick afternoon stroll with Sufjan and Whodat: Read & Listen! ! As I came closer to the kickball field, a gang of nine year olds playing kicked a soccer ball over […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

