Posted by: hmillic | November 26, 2007

R.I.P Tippy

My dog, Tippy, died yesterday.

I got her when I was in elementary school, so she’s been a part of my life for a long time. She was a good dog, and an important member of our family.

Tippy loved cheese, scratching her back on the coffee table, and chasing and killing any small rodent that had the misfortune of finding itself in our back yard. Squirrels were her favorite. She had a reputation for especially pungent flatulence after meals.

Tippy is survived by 2 litters of exceptionally cool puppies, and five of them stayed with our family. I’m sure they are going to miss their cranky mother.

She’s buried next to a wildflower field out in the country, which I think is a lovely resting place for her. I hope she’s happy now. I hope she gets to chase all the squirrels she wants.

I don’t care what some people think, I know I’ll see her again someday.


Responses

  1. Aw, Heather. I’m sorry. I know what it’s like to lose a member of the family like that and it’s just a giant amount of suck. But I completely agree with you — you’ll definitely see Tippy again someday. And till then, she’ll be having a good old time in doggie heaven. 🙂

  2. I was so sorry to hear about little Tippy. I remember when we got her…and all the subsequent drama that resulted whenever she and the rest of the hooligans (read: the pups) escaped the back yard.

    I like the fact that she’s buried in a wildflower field. She was a good little dog.

  3. I’m sorry to hear that. My heart goes out to you and yours.
    I know it hurts real bad. I lost my dog almost 6 years ago to the day and there is not a day goes by that I don’t think about him and I still miss him dearly.

    It left a massive hole in my life which will never be replaced but it does get easier to cope with over time and when you feel down about it it’s good to think about all the good times that you had together.

  4. Heather, Beather!! I had no idea about Tippy! I have been so self-absorbed with PTWS (post traumatic wedding syndrome) that I haven’t even bothered to ask how you are! RIP, Tippy. And I don’t care what anyone thinks either, I know you’ll see Tippy again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

